During the months of June and July, 2019, Morganton Public Safety conducted alcohol sales compliance checks at 37 convenience stores inside Morganton City limits.
The compliance checks enlisted 17 year old, confidential informants tasked with attempting to purchase alcoholic beverages.
11 stores sold alcoholic beverages to the confidential informants:
Tobacco Barn 569 East Fleming Drive
Bypass Beverage 556 East Fleming Drive
Dollar General 545 East Fleming Drive
Big Daddy’s 1308 Carbon City Rd
Colonel’s Pantry 1007 Jamestown Rd
Jett Xpress 410 Vine Arden Rd.
Super Tienda Maya 301 Avery Ave.
Murphy's Express 655 W Fleming Dr.
Jack B Quick 1270 Burkemont Ave.
Tobacco Barn 401 Old NC 18
Salem Express 1014 Salem Rd.
NC General Statute 18B-302 prohibits the sale or giving of any alcoholic beverage to a person less than 21 years of age. Officers identified the store clerks and issued citations.
Morganton Public Safety will conduct future compliance checks. We encourage local businesses to provide training and awareness about the law in regards to selling alcoholic beverages.
Underage Drinking Facts
- Alcohol stems brain development in adolescents and young adults. (National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism).
- Alcohol may cause permanent damage to the memory and learning center inside the brain as well as decision-making and reasoning areas. (Clinical EEG and Neuroscience).
- 14% of North Carolina high school students had their first drink before the age of 13. (HHS Office of Adolescent Health).
- Alcohol kills more young people under the age of 21 than all other illicit drugs combined. (National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism).
- Most high school students that drink alcohol are binge drinkers (57.8%). (DHHS)
- Thirty-three percent of middle school students began drinking before age 11. (DHHS)
- In North Carolina, the underage consumption of alcohol costs taxpayers $1.1 billion annually.
- Alcohol is one of the most common contributors of injury, death and criminal behavior among youth.
- 95% of all violent crimes committed on college campuses are alcohol-related. (N.C. Carolina Governor's Institute on Alcohol and Substance Abuse).
- In 2015, 23.5% of all fatal crashes in North Carolina involving an underage driver were due to alcohol impairment. (Responsibility.org)
- Most teens get their alcohol from their parents or other adults over the age of 21.
- It is illegal for anyone under 21 to drive while consuming or after consuming alcohol.
- Any reading above 0.00 on an alcohol-screening test is sufficient to convict a youth.
- Refusing to take an intoxilyzer test along with the odor of alcohol on the breath is sufficient evidence to convict an underage user.