The City of Morganton is divided into four voting districts. Any registered voter who lives in the City can run for Mayor when the Mayor's seat is up for election. To seek election to represent Council District 1, 2, 3 or 4, a candidate must reside within the district. The Mayor and Council seats are elected "at large" meaning that all voters in the City cast ballots for the Mayor's seat and each District Seat up for election.

Search for your district on the City of Morganton Election Districts Map at Search for your address, and then click on your parcel to see which Councilman represents your district.


Election Method: Nonpartisan plurality method

The City of Morganton uses the "Nonpartisan plurality method" for city elections. This is the most common municipal election method. All candidates for a position are listed on the ballot, without party affiliation. The top vote-getters are elected, regardless of whether or not they recieved a majority. If the contest is for more than one seat, the person or persons recieving the next-highest vote totals are also elected. For example, if there are 7 candidates running for 2 seats, the candidates that finish first and second are elected.

N.C. General Statute ยง163-292 


Register to Vote

Morganton residents can register to vote, or change their address, between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. at the Burke County Board of Elections Office, located at 201 West Meeting Street, Morganton, (828) 764-9010. Residents can also download a voter registration form from the NC State Board of Elections website.

City Contact


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Staff Directory

305 E. Union St. Ste A100
Morganton, NC 28655 i Google Maps 16x16

morganton logo color 200px